Adagietto for Strings (String Octet or String Orchestra)


available as TWO downloads
Two downloads are €2.00
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


Johnstone Creations – Adagietto for Strings (String Octet or String Orchestra)


Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – General Score (14 pages in all)

PDF 2 – All String Individual Parts (20 pages in all)


Important Note on “Adagietto for Strings”:

ADAGIETTO for String Octet is scored for 4 violins, 2 violas and 2 Cellos (or in place of 2 Cellos alternatively with 1 Cello & 1 Double-Bass)

ADAGIETTO for String Orchestra is always to be performed by 4 violin parts (1 & 2 correspond to the normal Violin I orchestral section, and 3 & 4 to the 2nd Violins), 2 violas (always play in divisi), Cellos (as shown as Cello ‘1’ in the general score) and Double Basses (who play the last line instead of Cello ‘2’)

Other Information: A youthful work of Johnstone, “re-discovered” and revised in 2019. Highly romantic, with influences of Mahler and Rachmaninov present. Also available in version for 8 Cellos or Cello Orchestra, and available in Johnstone-Music – see:


Duration: under 4 mins

This musical creation was originally written for: ‘Shush’

Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.):

P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …

Enjoy the music !!



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Adagietto for Strings (String Octet or String Orchestra)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *