See this free music which can be instantly downloaded without entering the Johnstone-Music shop in the “CELLO CLUB” section of the web site (access from the home page)…


Johnstone Creations – DAVID JOHNSTONE – Breaking into Bach – VOLUME ONE – this music has been composed and prepared for Cello Solo.

Download Contents or Instructions:
PDF 1 – Cello part and extensive notes both in English and Spanish (27 pages in all)

Contents of this volume – Sarabande in G // Bourree in G // Prelude in D // Gigue in G // Arioso in C (with optional 2nd cello) // Courante in F // Minuet in G (No. 1) // Ouverture in G minor (Introduction) // Toccata in C 

Brief Information:
Music very similar to Bach composed for young and/or less experienced musicians  which sounds good and convincing but is actually a far bit easier than our maestro Bach himself! The goal here is to create modern day ‘Bach ambience’ pieces, enough to convince 95% of the listening public, but which are not academic Baroque period purities. These 18 pieces are conceived for the ‘modern’ instrument – we are looking at NEW pieces featuring Bachian influences. They are all easier than the level confronted in the First Cello Suite of J.S. Bach and so the promise is that they will be enjoyable…
[do see the other Volume!]

Duration: the pieces are miniatures (between one and four minutes each number)  but the duration in total is over 45 minutes, and if played in its entirety by different numbers of performers then one should calculate an event of nearly one hour’s duration.

This musical creation was originally written for: Dale Henderson, cellist from U.S.A. and founder of the International Bach movement “Bach in the Subways”

Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.):

* Arioso, from the series of 18 pieces ‘Breaking into Bach’ for 2 Cellos
Cellist Carlos García Amigo plays/records BOTH parts (adding some extra harmony personal!)

P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web – which might also be good publicity for yourselves!

Enjoy the music !!



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “CELLO PROJECT – BREAKING INTO BACH (JOHNSTONE) – 18 Original J.S. BACH influenced pieces for SOLO CELLO – VOL. I”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *