ROMANTIC CONCERTO GROSSO – Solo String Quartet, Solo Piano and String Orchestra


available as THREE downloads
Three downloads here are €6.00
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


Johnstone Creations – DAVID JOHNSTONE – ROMANTIC CONCERTO GROSSO for Solo String Quartet, Solo Piano and String Orchestra

Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – Solo String Quartet and Solo Piano parts (61 pages in all)

PDF 2 – General Conductor Orchestral Score (81 pages in all)

PDF 3 – Orchestral Tutti individual parts (48 pages in all)


Brief Information:

This full work of some 13-14 minutes duration mixes the baroque ideals of the Concerto Grosso with a small concertino group (in this case 5 musicians) dialoguing with the larger orchestral forces (‘ripieno’) with a full romantic era writing – such as the Elgar Introduction and Allegro for String Quartet and String orchestra which Johnstone feels could be a good ‘sister’ work to be programmed together.  It is not excessively difficult and could be a rewarding experience for all string players (and pianists!).



This musical creation was originally written for: in memory of the composer’s father John Eric Johnstone


Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.):


P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …


Enjoy the music !!



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “ROMANTIC CONCERTO GROSSO – Solo String Quartet, Solo Piano and String Orchestra”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *