View cart “POEM FOR THE BASQUE COUNTRY (ZORTZICO) – String Quartet” has been added to your cart.

Sonata de Camara ‘Mar del Plata’ Solo Accordion and String Quartet


These downloads are available for a total of €9.00
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


Sonata de Camara ‘Mar del Plata’ Solo Accordion and String Quartet, by DAVID JOHNSTONE

A major work for accordion soloist with Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola and Cello

Performance time – about 22 mins

PDF1 – General Score

PDF 2 – part for Violin 1

PDF 3 – part for Violin 2

PDF 4 – part for Viola

PDF 5 – part for Cello

PDF 6 – part for Accordion

The Sonata de Camara ‘Mar del Plata’ is not intended to be specifically a ‘tango’ work although one can appreciate many influences of this style, especially in the rhythmical aspects. This work for Accordion and String Quartet was born out of the respect and ‘well-feeling’ towards Astor Piazzolla, the ‘father figure’ of modern Argentinian music, who was born in the city of Mar del Plata in 1921.

The sonata is structured in four movements, which at the same time form two large entities comprising two linked, and almost joined, movements each one. Various themes are treated cyclically (motives of one movement appear in transformations in other movements) to achieve more solidity and unity to the work.

The first movement ‘Fantasia’ (largo, ma non troppo) is the most abstract movement of the four, incorporating Cadenzas for the accordionist and agreeable dissonances in the strings. Its function is that of a long introduction which launches into the following movement with the briefest of a pause.

The second movement ‘Allegro de Concert’ (allegro moderato, espresivo e triste) is written in a very free type of ‘Sonata form’ where in some way the ‘tango’ music is mixed with ‘new-age’ without losing at the same time a true classical feeling. The re-exposition quickly develops towards a highly powered climax towards the end, then gradually coming to rest on some deliberate static harmonies which well prepare the ambience for the following movement.

The third movement takes us back into the history of music – an authentic ‘Habanera’ (tempo di habanera, tranquilo) full of sweetness, sensuality and generally introspective. There is an especial melodic role given to the violinists and viola, whilst the violoncello gentling portrays the characteristic habanera throbbing pulsations.

When the solo accordion passages at the beginning of the fourth movement are reached – ‘Vigoroso’ (introduction – allegro) – there is an obvious return to modernity in what is to become a very rhythmic piece with many interesting outwardly projected passages (and not only for the accordion but for all string players), with elements of humour, musical conversations and a passionate conclusion.

It is equally well programmable as a Concerto work with full string orchestra, also available to whoever might be interested. The total performance time is about 22 – 23 minutes, making it a sensible choice as a novelty in string quartet programmes, and is of course particularly beckoning for those accordion soloists looking for an unusual but beautiful instrumental combination alongside the Piazzolla ‘Five Tango Sensations’ for the same instrumentation.



A note from David:

“If you wish to have a very professional quality copy of this music, set with high quality paper in a deluxe edition please contact the publisher CREIGHTON’S COLLECTION for a prompt delivery at an economical price – recommended for performance. It has a sharpness of image superior than you will find in the Johnstone-Music web shop”.

 [Creighton’s Collection
244 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9JG, Wales, Great Britain
Tel. [+44] 29 2039 7711 (from within G.B. 029-2039-7711)
Or by Internet: / E-mail: tim/ at / ]


Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge of €1.00 per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Essener Philharmoniker (Germany), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page:






Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sonata de Camara ‘Mar del Plata’ Solo Accordion and String Quartet”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *