View cart “IRANZU (Spiritual Piece) – Trio for Accordion (obligatory), flute (or violin, oboe, clarinet or recorder) and Cello (or viola or bassoon)” has been added to your cart.

Sonata for Violin Solo


The piece is available as ONE download = €3.50
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days



David Johnstone – Sonata for Violin Solo

Performance time approx. 18′

Download Contents or Instructions:
PDF 1 – complete music for Solo Violin (20 pages in all)

The ‘Sonata for Violin Solo’ by David Johnstone is a large-scale work for unaccompanied solo Violin. Originally conceived in the mid-1990s, but substantially improved and expanded in 2007, it is cast in three lengthy movements, and follows a normal fast-slow-fast order. Almost immediately, it becomes apparent that the violin writing is of a modern classical idiom, although it should be comforting to know that traditional musical notation and bar-lines are used at all times. However, the weighty virtuoso writing is seldom comfortable, demanding intense concentration on the part of the performer (in the same manner as do the Sonatas and Partitas of J.S.Bach). In general terms, the journey through the many harmonic zones and the occurrence of regular dissonances (always there for a musical reason and never just for effect), together with the wide playing registers make this a difficult work to memorize. Though playing by heart is not at all important, the benefits of doing so are considerable, with the possibility of better helping to captivate the listener in an outwardly ‘brazen’ and intense projection of the opening movement, in the moments of special intimate poetry in the 2nd movement, and in the jaunty rhythmic propulsion of the Scherzo finale.

I Allegro, sempre espressivo.
II Fantasia-Declamation.
III Scherzo (Finale).

In essence, this is a work for the solo concert artist, but one which would also present an exciting challenge to the advanced student, as an alternative to other large-scale unaccompanied works of the twentieth century. In performance, the duration of the Sonata for Solo Violin is just under 18 minutes.




A note from David:

“If you wish to have a very professional quality copy of this music, set with high quality paper in a deluxe edition please contact the publisher CREIGHTON’S COLLECTION for a prompt delivery at an economical price – recommended for performance. It has a sharpness of image superior than you will find in the Johnstone-Music web shop”.

 [Creighton’s Collection
244 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9JG, Wales, Great Britain
Tel. [+44] 29 2039 7711 (from within G.B. 029-2039-7711)
Or by Internet: / E-mail: tim/ at / ]



Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge of €1.00 per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Essener Philharmoniker (Germany), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page:






Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price




There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Sonata for Violin Solo”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *