BRUCKNER – Virga Jesse Floruit (motet) – FOUR CELLOS or CELLO ORCHESTRA


available as TWO downloads
Two downloads are €2.00
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


Johnstone Creations – BRUCKNER – Virga Jesse Floruit (motet, 1885) – this music has been specially produced for Four Cellos or for larger cello ensemble and Cello Orchestra / of interesting use in the Cello class etc.


Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – All individual cello parts (13 pages in all)

PDF 2 – General Score (6 pages in all)


The tempo indication is – Alla breve. Feierlich langsam


General difficulty of the music – other Information:


Technically for the left-hand only the first cello presents regular thumb position but neither does it go too high! However, the harmonic importance is shared almost equally amongst all four cello parts and a stable intonation and sense of chamber music playing is of prime importance. If played by larger cello ensembles then a conductor will almost surely prove to be of benefit.

Virga Jesse (The branch from Jesse), WAB 52, is a motet by the Austrian composer Anton Bruckner. It sets the gradual ‘Virga Jesse floruit’ for unaccompanied mixed choir. This romantic work was completed on 3rd September 1885 and may have been intended for the celebration of the one-hundredth anniversary of the Linz diocese. However, it was first performed on 8th December that year in the Wiener Hofmusikkapelle for the Feast of the Immaculate Conception. The original manuscript seems to have been lost, but copies/transcriptions of the original are archived at the Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, the Hofmusikkapelle, and at the Abbey of Kremsmünster.

This 91-bar gradual (originally in E minor) is for mixed choir a cappella. In the first part on the verse Virga jesse floruit (bars 1-20) Bruckner used twice the Dresdner Amen on the word floruit (bars 7-9 and 17-19). The last part (bars 63-91) consists of an Alleluja, for which Bruckner drew his inspiration from the Hallelujah of Händel’s Messiah, on which he often improvised on organ. The motet ends in pianissimo. Max Auer regards it as the most accomplished and magnificent a cappella motet of the composer. The Bruckner biographer Howie also calls this work “one of Bruckner’s finest motets”.

This was prepared a couple of decades ago for trombone choir by Shigeru Kan; Johnstone has simply prepared the bowings and fingerings to the cello parts and a couple of minor retouches. It may be performed equally well either by a solo cello quartet or by a larger cello ensemble or orchestra.


Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.):

P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …

Enjoy the music !!



Bruckner 4 Cellos – Music Partituras

Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge of €1.00 per download.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Essener Philharmoniker (Germany), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page:






Bruckner Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “BRUCKNER – Virga Jesse Floruit (motet) – FOUR CELLOS or CELLO ORCHESTRA”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *