GERSHWIN – Grand Suite ‘Gershwin for Three’ – THREE CELLOS


Available in download/s with price: €4.00

The order is possible by credit card (minimum purchase €4.00) or by PayPal (minimum purchase €4.50)

There are generous discounts for larger orders (see information in the right column)

Please try not to enter more than a single copy of each work (with the quantity set to “1“, you already have 4 opportunities to download the requested PDFs, during a period of 7 days)

In each check-out the web shop can also include up to THREE free products together with your order (indicated with a price of €0.00) at your free choice!

In general, the most detailed descriptive information about the music offered is found in the English version of the website.

Enjoy the music!



GERSHWIN-Johnstone-Armitage – Grand Suite ‘Gershwin for Three’, produced for Three Cellos


Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – Cello I part (12 pages in all)

PDF 2 – Cello II part (12 pages in all)

PDF 3 – Cello III part (12 pages in all)

PDF 4 – General Score (19 pages in all)


This volume or collection includes the following pieces:

Introduction // (Rhapsody in Blue theme, leading to) The Man I love // Cadence – Cello III // I got Rhythm // Summertime // Cadence – Cello II

‘S Wonderful // I got plenty o’ Nuttin’ // Cadence – Cello I // Rhapsody in Blue theme


General difficulty of the music – other brief Information:

DIFFICULT. This is a work that needs rehearsal, even for professional cellists, but is well worth the effort. All parts have ample protagonism, weave in and out of each other, and compliment each other. However, it is scored in well-playable registers of the cello; very little thumb position but plenty of 5th, 6th and 7th positions.

The compositions of Gershwin brilliantly spanned both popular (especially jazz) and classical genres. Among his best-known works are the orchestral compositions Rhapsody in Blue (1924) and An American in Paris (1928) as well as the opera Porgy and Bess (1935). The melodies taken for this Grand Suite for three cellos are largely taken from the first and last of the works just mentioned. It is a full-scale recital work (duration about 16 mins) though there is no problem is programming individual piece/pieces if one wishes.

Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.) –

P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …

Enjoy the music !!



Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page visit our sections:





Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “GERSHWIN – Grand Suite ‘Gershwin for Three’ – THREE CELLOS”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *