GOENS (Van) – Scherzo, Op.12 – FIVE CELLOS or Soloist with Cello Orchestra


Available in download/s with price: €4.00

The order is possible by credit card (minimum purchase €4.00) or by PayPal (minimum purchase €4.50)

There are generous discounts for larger orders (see information in the right column)

Please try not to enter more than a single copy of each work (with the quantity set to “1“, you already have 4 opportunities to download the requested PDFs, during a period of 7 days)

In each check-out the web shop can also include up to THREE free products together with your order (indicated with a price of €0.00) at your free choice!

In general, the most detailed descriptive information about the music offered is found in the English version of the website.

Enjoy the music!


Johnstone Creations – Daniel Van Goens – Scherzo, Op.12 – this music has been specially produced for five cellos or a Cello soloist accompanied by a larger cello ensemble or cello orchestra.

Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – Cello I – Soloist Cello part (4 pages in all)

PDF 2 – Cello Parts II and III (11 pages in all)

PDF 3 – Cello Parts IV and V (11 pages in all)

The tempo indication is – Vivace molto e con spirit

General difficulty of the music – other brief Information:

MEDIUM (to DIFFICULT). Although generally of accompanying nature the cellos II to V all have melodic moments to enjoy. Cello II briefly uses thumb position and 6th position; the other parts are all rather more comfortable for the left-hand, therefore it is included in “easy” cello ensembles. The main difficulty could arise from the speed in which the soloist player takes this piece; of course this first part is indeed virtuosic!

The name of Daniel van Goens is remembered today primarily for one particular work for cello and piano, although he also composed a wealth of music. His first works were published in 1885 and he composed many works for his own instrument, also published in versions for violin, but only the ‘Scherzo’ has regularly survived into the repertoire today. The first section is a fast and virtuosic moto perpetuo figure, marked ‘Vivace molto e con spirito’, and then moves abruptly into a more lyrical and cantabile section, marked ‘Cantando’ and with a more relaxed and sonorous approach, but which has no relationship to the first section. The music now ebbs and flows in a late-romantic style, before a 20 bar bridging passage of the moto perpetuo music returns leading back into an exact repetition of the opening music. The piece is fast, lively, fun, light-hearted and great for the player and an audience. The piece was also popularised by the great double bass player Gary Karr, often as an encore, and his brilliant performances and sense of fun added to the enjoyment of the performance. {Programme note credit: David Heyes}


This musical creation was originally prepared for: Rodolfo Zanni

Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.):

P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …

Enjoy the music !!


EXAMPLES from Cello 2 and Cello 4:




Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page visit our sections:





Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “GOENS (Van) – Scherzo, Op.12 – FIVE CELLOS or Soloist with Cello Orchestra”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *