MOZART – Andante (‘Et incarnatus est’ from the Great Mass in C minor) – 8 SOLO CELLOS


available as THREE downloads
Three downloads are €3.00
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


Johnstone Creations – WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – Andante (‘Et incarnatus est’ from the Great Mass in C minor) – this music has been specially produced for EIGHT solo Cellos.


Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – Individual cello parts 1 to 4 (14 pages in all)

PDF 2 – Individual cello parts 5 to 8 (14 pages in all)

PDF 3 – General Score reproducing the completed orchestral score as reference (12 pages in all)


The tempo indication is – Andante


General difficulty of the music – other Information:

Cellos 1 to 4 DIFFICULT; Cellos 5 to 8 MEDIUM

Great Mass in C minor (German: Große Messe in c-Moll), K. 427/417a, is the common name of the last musical setting of the mass by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (not counting his Requiem Mass left unfinished at his death). He composed it in Vienna in 1782 and 1783, when he was no longer a church musician of the Salzburg Cathedral.

The large-scale work, a missa solemnis, is scored for two soprano soloists, a tenor and a bass, double chorus and large orchestra. It remained unfinished, missing large portions of the Credo and the complete Agnus Dei. The work embodies pomp and solemnity associated with the Salzburg traditions of the time, but it also anticipates the symphonic masses of Joseph Haydn in its solo-choral sharing. The mass shows the influence of Bach and Handel, whose music Mozart was studying at this time (see Gottfried van Swieten).

In July 2015, Pope Francis told reporters that the “Et incarnatus est” from the work “is matchless; it lifts you to God!”

The 8-Cello arrangement features the soprano soloist as Cello 1, the other three wind soloists as cellos 2 to 4, and the main orchestral bulk as cellos 5 to 8. The first four parts have intricate solo melody material which might be more suitable to advanced/music college cellists, whereas parts 5 to 8 are certainly more comfortable for intermediate players. The registers have been altered for a comfortable cello setting, but no notes have been left out. Thumb position is employed in the higher parts. It should prove to be a most interesting octet in a real chamber music setting. Probably a conductor will not be needed in concert performance, though one might be useful in rehearsals.


Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.):

P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …

Enjoy the music !!



MOZART – Andante (‘Et incarnatus est’ from the Great Mass in C minor), for 8 SOLO CELLOS from Johnstone-Music

Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge of €1.00 per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Essener Philharmoniker (Germany), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page:






Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MOZART – Andante (‘Et incarnatus est’ from the Great Mass in C minor) – 8 SOLO CELLOS”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *