BOCCHERINI’s Famous Minuet – 4 Cellos (or larger ensemble)


Available in download/s with price: €3.00

The order is possible by credit card (minimum purchase €4.00) or by PayPal (minimum purchase €4.50)

There are generous discounts for larger orders (see information in the right column)

Please try not to enter more than a single copy of each work (with the quantity set to “1“, you already have 4 opportunities to download the requested PDFs, during a period of 7 days)

In each check-out the web shop can also include up to THREE free products together with your order (indicated with a price of €0.00) at your free choice!

In general, the most detailed descriptive information about the music offered is found in the English version of the website.

Enjoy the music!


BOCCHERINI’s Famous Minuet – 4 Cellos or Cello Orchestra

PDF 1 – General Score

PDF 2 – All Individual Cello Parts

The String Quintet in E major, Op. 11, No. 5, by Luigi Boccherini was written in 1771 and published in 1775 and is famous for its minuet third movement (often referred to as “The Celebrated Minuet“).  According to cellist Kenneth Slowik, the popularity of Boccherini’s string quintets began to surge in the early 20th century, decades after the composer’s death in 1805. And in the 1870s the minuet began to “go viral” in a more traditional way.

This piece was made further famous by its use in the 1955 film ‘The Ladykillers’. In the story, a quintet of crooks masquerades as classical musicians and is heard practising the famous minuet inside their room – with the help of a record player. The quintet consisted of Peter Sellers, Alec Guiness, Herbert Lom, Cecil Parker and Danny Green.

The four cello presentation by David Johnstone has been revised from an existing arrangement for four saxophones, and adapted to the cello registers, therefore a change in key being absolutely necessary. The first part uses regular thumb (Q) position though not moving high up, whilst all the other parts are rather more comfortable.

Enjoy the music!





Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page visit our sections:





Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “BOCCHERINI’s Famous Minuet – 4 Cellos (or larger ensemble)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *