MOZART – Divertimento for strings in D Major (K136) – CELLO ORCHESTRA or FOUR SOLO CELLOS


available in FIVE downloads
These downloads are IN TOTAL only €2.50
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


Johnstone Creations – WOLFGANG AMADEUS MOZART – String Divertimento in D Major, K136- this music has been specially produced for Four Cellos or Cello Orchestra


Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – Part for Cello I (10 pages in all)

PDF 2 – Part for Cello II (10 pages in all)

PDF 3 – Part for Cello III (10 pages in all)

PDF 4 – Part for Cello IV (10 pages in all)

PDF 5 – General (original) Score (12 pages in all)


The movements are:

I – Allegro
II – Andante
III — Presto


General difficulty of the music – other brief Information:

MEDIUM (Cellos II and IV) to DIFFICULT (Cellos I and II)

The “Divertimento in D Major” (K136) is the first of a collection of three divertimenti in the form of small symphonies, and are often known as the “Salzburg” symphonies. Mozart was only 16 when he composed these, in 1772, and they all lack a minuet which might make them true symphonies – perhaps Mozart’s visits to Italy at that time influenced him into a rather more Corelli concerto grosso form usually set in 3 movements, for other divertimenti of Mozart have up to six movements and even more, and often also included wind instruments! As said, Mozart was then just 16 years of age, and already held the post of Court Concertmaster to Hieronymus Coloredo, Prince Archbishop of Salzburg – in keeping with Classical conventions, works such as these for string orchestra could also be played by the four voices of the string quartet when the occasion demanded. Therefore David Johnstone sees these as well worthy as being presented either by Cello Orchestra or by four individual soloists.

The three movements are:

I – Allegro  // II – Andante  // III – Presto

Although these may be classed as difficult for cellists, they are well playable too for advanced cellists. The first (and second) cello parts have substantial thumb position; but when one sets down comfortably to finger the part it may be found that more often than not the thumb (Q) rests on the A/D harmonics, or a fourth lower (E/D).

Johnstone sees this as a worthy addition to cello ensemble repertoire! He has produced the individual cello player parts; however if a conductor is used he/she should use the original string general score – the game here has been changing the registers of all the parts (and not necessarily simply one octave lower either!), and apart from this it can be said that Johnstone has been faithful to Mozart’s intentions!!


Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.):
VIDEO * Wolfgang A. MOZART – Divertimento in D Major, last movement (Presto)
Gabriel Faur x 4 (Gabriel Faur records ALL parts)

P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …

Enjoy the music !!



Mozart 4 Cellos – Music Partituras

Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge of €1.00 per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Essener Philharmoniker (Germany), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page:






Mozart Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “MOZART – Divertimento for strings in D Major (K136) – CELLO ORCHESTRA or FOUR SOLO CELLOS”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *