Poema De Amor (Johnstone), for Violin and Piano


Available in download/s with price: €3.50

The order is possible by credit card (minimum purchase €4.00) or by PayPal (minimum purchase €4.50)

There are generous discounts for larger orders (see information in the right column)

Please try not to enter more than a single copy of each work (with the quantity set to “1”, you already have 4 opportunities to download the requested PDFs, during a period of 7 days)

In each check-out the web shop can also include up to THREE free products together with your order (indicated with a price of €0.00) at your free choice!

In general, the most detailed descriptive information about the music offered is found in the English version of the website.

Enjoy the music!

Categories: ,


David Johnstone – Poema De Amor, for Violin and Piano

PDF 1 – Violin Part

PDF 2 – Piano Part


The ‘Poema de Amor’ for Solo Violin and Piano is an interesting work in the line of romantic film music, and was commissioned by the Spanish chamber music artist Joan Borràs. After a brief introduction, the violinist enters with a ‘cantabile’ melody, sounding at all times ample and noble. This special melody is the essence or ‘backbone’ to the whole piece, where, in the central part, the soloist opens out in wider registers, culminating in a brief cadenza. This rather invites the accompanist to set forth and enjoy his or her one moment of memorable climax, before the intensity is gradually reduced little by little (coinciding with the re-entry of the soloist), until arriving at a final part exceptionally tranquil. The piano writing should be seen as moderately comfortable for competent pianists. The duration of the work is of some six minutes, and can be flexibly inserted into a wide range of Recital programming, both serious and light.

There is also an orchestral version available for Violin and String Orchestra, which might be of real interest to those looking for contemporary ‘tuneful’ pieces, for the beauty of this piece is that it can sound equally impressive played by promising medium level students or by top class soloists! The world premiere of the work was given, in the orchestral version, by the Strings of the Chamber Orchestra ‘Camerata Cambrensis’ (conducted by Caroline Collier) in Bayonne Cathedral (France), and on this occasion the soloist was Catalin Bucataru.

Performance time approx. 6.00 mins




A note from David:

“If you wish to have a very professional quality copy of this music, set with high quality paper in a deluxe edition please contact the publisher CREIGHTON’S COLLECTION for a prompt delivery at an economical price – recommended for performance. It has a sharpness of image superior than you will find in the Johnstone-Music web shop”.

 [Creighton’s Collection
244 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9JG, Wales, Great Britain
Tel. [+44] 29 2039 7711 (from within G.B. 029-2039-7711)
Or by Internet: www.cccd.co.uk / E-mail: tim/ at /creightonscollection.co.uk ]



Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge of €1.00 per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Essener Philharmoniker (Germany), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page:






Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Poema De Amor (Johnstone), for Violin and Piano”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *