RHAPSODY CONCERTANTE on Hungarian and Rumanian Themes (Johnstone), for Violin and Piano or for Violin and String Orchestra


These downloads are available for a total of €6.00
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


David Johnstone – Rhapsody Concertante, on Hungarian and Rumanian Themes, for Violin and Piano or for Violin and String Orchestra

Performance time approx. 11′


PDF 1 – Solo Violin part {free; see underneath}

PDF 2 – Piano Accompaniment part {free; see underneath}

PDF 3 – Orchestral General Score

PDF 4 – Violin 1 and 2 part

PDF 5 – Viola part

PDF 6 – Cello and D Bass part

The ‘Rhapsody Concertante’ is a virtuoso work for violin, published as a concert work for violin and piano, and a hand-written string orchestral accompaniment is also available. The themes are not specified, but are taken from the ambience of the virtuoso violinists of central-eastern Europe playing lighter and classical-folk styles. The idea of the work came about from the interest and knowledge of the dedicatee in gypsy and other Hungarian and Rumanian style violin writing, and this has been wielded into a mini-concerto or concertante type work.

There are three movements, or clearly defined sections. The first, after the initial introduction, is none other than a ‘showy’ cadenza from the soloist. This leads to a heart-felt ‘Adagio’ where the violinist sings intensely on all four strings, but especially on the top string. This finally gives way to the ‘Perpetuum Mobile’ finale which bursts forth in a virtuoso display of virtuosity covering many violin technical effects. The total duration is of about 11 – 12 minutes, but it is also well possible to programme either the second movement or the third movement as individual pieces.


AUDIO – Swinging Strings of the Basque National Orchestra – the last movement (Perpetuum mobile, virtuoso piece for Solo Violin & String Orchestra or piano) can be heard here:


Soloist and piano free parts, instant downloads:

Violin: https://johnstone-music.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/JM63SC_Rhapsody_Concertante_violin.pdf
Piano: https://johnstone-music.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/09/JM63SC_Rhapsody_Concertante_Piano.pdf



Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page visit our sections:





Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “RHAPSODY CONCERTANTE on Hungarian and Rumanian Themes (Johnstone), for Violin and Piano or for Violin and String Orchestra”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *