SONATA CONCERTANTE, for Recorder and String Quartet


These downloads are available for a total of €7.50
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days


David Johnstone – Sonata Concertante, for Recorder and String Quartet

(Recorder, Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola & Cello)

Performance time approx. 20′

PDF 1 – General Study Score

PDF 2 – Recorder part

PDF 3 – Violin 1 part

PDF 4 – Violin 2 part

PDF 5 – Viola part

PDF 6 – Cello part

The Sonata Concertante of David Johnstone was written in 2004 and dedicated to the Spanish-based recorder virtuoso Ernesto Schmied. The idea from the outset was to write a large-scale work for recorder soloist and strings where the soloist is able to compete as equals with the others in a work which displays symphonic transformations and development, hence its title. With string quartet there is probably no special need to amplify of the solo recorders though this is optional – it is important to bear in mind that our soloist ‘switches’ between various instruments during the course of the work. In both ‘versions’ the music exceeds by a little some twenty minutes of performance time.

The piece is somewhat spiritual but not obviously religious, at least in any traditional sense. It is more a work of ‘personal growth’, but neither is it specifically auto-biographical. However there has been considerable psychological and emotional preparation to the role of the recorder soloist, who is our principal character in this music drama, and finally our hero as well; the following guides helped the composer, but the public will simply hear a well-crafted and intense piece of music.

The first movement starts as an ‘Oration’ – long romantic film ambience, with a solo part at times cantabile and at times more declamatory. However the string accompaniment increasingly inserts tension which tends to de-rail the romanticism of the soloist, whose musical offerings become increasingly desperate and despondent, unable to cope with the ‘onslaughts’ of the strings. After moments of pure ‘desolation’ a kind of divine or other spiritual help at the very end of the movement starts to sow subtle musical seeds to which our principal character is able to cling on to, and which eventually is to launch the second, and fast, movement, ‘Liberation’. This quite aggressive ‘allegro’ is conceived in a way in which the recorder is left alone on the ‘outside’ at the beginning (the ‘mock’ fugue of the quartet), but little by little enters the arena, becoming an equal to the strings and later dominating much of the proceedings. There are moments of great propulsion, a fair share of tension and relaxation, a subtle quasi cadenza by all – the soloist and strings – and a glorious coda to bring the work to an exciting and brilliant finish. The overall aim has been to produce a weighty addition to the repertoire of the recorder soloist, both in the difficulty of the writing and the complex structure.


“If you wish to have a very professional quality copy of this music, set with high quality paper in a deluxe edition please contact the publisher CREIGHTON’S COLLECTION for a prompt delivery at an economical price – recommended for performance. It has a sharpness of image superior than you will find in the Johnstone-Music web shop”.

 [Creighton’s Collection
244 Cathedral Road, Cardiff, CF11 9JG, Wales, Great Britain
Tel. [+44] 29 2039 7711 (from within G.B. 029-2039-7711)
Or by Internet: / E-mail: tim/ at / ]



Welcome to Johnstone-Music! A big Anglo-Spanish web for MUSICIANS and especially CELLISTS – original music scores for orchestral instruments and keyboard. Plus articles, audios, videos, resources, catalogues, news etc. Official web of the professional cellist David Johnstone, principal cello Navarre Symphony Orchestra (Spain), chamber musician and soloist in many premieres. Hundreds of cello arrangements in the web for a symbolic charge of €1.00 per download or for free.

The following have taken his work onboard, sometimes with special collaborations as composer-arranger-performer: the Philadelphia Orchestra, Orquesta Sinfónica de Euskadi, Orquesta Sinfónica de Venezuela, Orchestre Nouvelle Generation de Montreal, the Gulbenkian Orchestra (Lisbon), Orchestra da Camera del Locarnese (Suiza), The Zagreb Soloists, the Saint Petersburg Musical Theatre “Zazerkalye” Chamber Orchestra, the Wroclaw Chamber Orchestra Leopoldinum (Poland), Auckland Philharmonic Orchestra (New Zealand), Camerata Cambrensis (Basque country), Essener Philharmoniker (Germany), Ensemble Metamorphosis of Belgrade (Serbia), with Ara Malikian (Non Profit Music Chamber Orchestra – Madrid), and a long etc.. Currently, many courses, conservatoires and music schools, university String departments etc. use his repertoire; there are dozens of his arrangements on ‘You Tube’ …

Directly from the home page:






Cellos Music Partituras gratis precio simbólico free symbolic price



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “SONATA CONCERTANTE, for Recorder and String Quartet”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *