SONATA – Solo Oboe


available as ONE download
One download is €1.00
You have 4 opportunities to download, within a period of 7 days



Johnstone Creations – SONATA – this music has been prepared for Oboe Solo


Download Contents or Instructions:

PDF 1 – Individual part and performance notes (15 pages in all)


Brief Information:

A major contemporary work for solo Oboe in traditional notation.

There are three movements:

I – Con moto // II – Como un sicilienne lento // III – Allegro moderato ma con fuoco

The writing might be described as somewhere between martinu and Prokofiev, though Johnstone was not looking for any influences. It uses techniques and expressiveness in all the playing registers in a composition that is sometimes complex but which is of great proplusion and direct projection.

The late British composer Jonathan FeBland wrote of this work:

“I’ve played through the Solo Oboe Sonata once so far on the Piano. There are a handful of priceless phrases in there which if I was a plagiarist I would happily pinch and use as a starting point for some of my own work. But do not fear, I will not do that !! The resounding ending in E flat to my ear works perfectly and is a fitting climax to the work. General comments – well done and hope to hear a live performance some time soon!”


This musical creation was originally written for: Iñigo Oses


Any known possible links of this music (audio, video, article etc.) –


P.S. If you ever record this music (preferably onto YouTube) we would be delighted to add YOUR link here and in the Audio-Video section of the Web …

Enjoy the music !!


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “SONATA – Solo Oboe”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *